PR, Films and Fantasies

Super-book-markets

Posted on: May 4, 2010

This week I have a Directed Study on consumerism but I was too lazy to write it down in class and now I can’t seem to find the task anywhere…so I’ll talk a bit about a shop where one can breath products and money,  including part of the bullet points I vaguely remember.

Ladies and Gentleman: WATERSTONES!

Yes, it is a book shop… or should I say a book supermarket???

We are all so angry at giants like Tesco and Sainsbury taking over the retail world, so why should we be more gentle when it comes to books? I remember a movie I’ve seen a long time ago about a small neighborhood bookstore, passed on generation to generation and presently owned by a charming young lady. Obviously, a giant book-supermarket plans to take over her business as it opens nearby (it all ends in love btw). Isn’t it the same story?

Don’t get me wrong, I, as many others, actually got to love giant bookstores as one can stroll around, pick a pile of books, go to a corner and flip through… and you can do that with literature, media, science and any other title that seems appealing. But in the end is this a good or a bad thing?

Personally, after all my visits to the local Waterstones I ended up with piles of books I don’t have the time and energy to read. I put them on my night table, take them back on the shelves and then give them another chance on the night table… but somehow, 10 pages later, I just give them up. I would call this a useless waste of money…

Generally, the reason I do this is because I go in with a title in mind, find it and…. there it is! The magic bubble: 3 for 2!!! So I spend another half an hour looking for other books with bubbles thinking that I will beat the system and pay them less than they would want me to!

I went to the big (beautiful!!!) store on New Street in order to take some pictures as I remembered that was part of the task, but I couldn’t as it is completely forbidden. But just to make my point, I attach a googled image:

Gigantic building, perfect for a bank!!!

Also, I was suppose to talk about the people in the store and their shopping habits. 90% of the ones I saw had 3 books in their hands (3 for 2 never fails!!!)… 40% were parents with children… 20% students and 10% older people looking for history books. I only spent 30 minutes there so obviously this is not very suggestive.

Overall, I do like the feeling that all the books in the world are laid at your feet and the only thing you need is time to read them… and a few pounds. But on the other hand, with all their shiny covers, the “Stunning!”, “Remarkable!”, “Must read!” quotes (I will get to that in another post) and the perfect alphabetical order they are placed in, book become more like bread and butter than cultural objects.

Leave a Reply

my tweets

If you want to be up to date with my everyday philosophies, just click!

Join 18 other followers

Top Clicks

  • None
May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
