PR, Films and Fantasies

June films

Posted on: June 20, 2010

This week I spent a lot of time in the cinema and I’ve seen quite a few good films, despite the outrageous ticket prices in Leicester Square.

My week started with another BAFTA event, A Life in Pictures, organised by Dunhill. The spotlight was on Bill Nighy who was just charming in talking about his career and the people he met on his way. I was so proud when I found quotes and stories in all the Tuesday papers as I was there, in the audience, and heard it first πŸ™‚ Too bad they only focused on his addiction to suits and his personal bad impression. I was quite annoyed when the presenter (BBC star Francine Stock) asked him in a sarcastic way about his blockbuster roles: Pirates of the Caribbean and Underworld. She seemed so cold and disgusted by the American productions but Bill gave her some amazing answers πŸ™‚

Anyway, back to the films, the best of all was “I am love” which I couldn’t wait to see after reading the review in Sights and Sound a few months ago. The most important thing about it….it’s Italian. This means that the magical music, beautiful image (absolutely incredible!!!!) and amazing sets will take your breath away. The plot is also really smart and twisted as it is the case when a big, rich and influential family is the main “character”. All in all everybody has a secret…

A tragic love story set at the turn of the millennium in Milan. The film follows the fall of the haute bourgeoisie due to the forces of passion and unconditional love. (IMDb)

And from the blockbuster bunch I saw SATC2 (which I quite enjoyed and I really don’t understand the terrible reviews. It’s just another SATC and it never claimed to be more than that.) and The Killers (Aston and Kat make a perfect couple but the film is simply flat and blank. Terrible ending!).

Leave a Reply

my tweets

If you want to be up to date with my everyday philosophies, just click!

Join 18 other followers

Top Clicks

  • None
June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
