PR, Films and Fantasies

#lff @bfi

Posted on: October 25, 2010

“When you make your first film you feel like you are going to re-invent filmmaking” (Olivier Assayas)

I always dream of myself at the Cannes Film Festival, the Venice or the Berlin one or maybe even Sundance… but distance, time and money are always factors that stop me from saying: tomorrow I’ll seat in the same room as the world’s greatest film makers!

So obviously, being the first year I was in the UK during the London Film Festival (#lff) I said to myself that I couldn’t possibly miss any of the events… Easier said than done…

However, yesterday I finally managed to get on an early train to the big city and head for one of the Masterclasses. The guest was Olivier Assayas who was suppose to talk to us about his amazing career and films.

(extract from “L’eau froide” – I absolutely love the way music and image go together in telling a story that is a bit different to the French cinema we are used to)

I planned to have lunch at Jamie’s Italian in Canary Wharf just before heading for @bfi Southbank and as the restaurant was packed and our food took ages I had to rush through my delicious fish and espresso tart in order to get there on time. I run and stumbled through the extra-busy underground and at 4.55 I was in my seat E18 in NFT1… At 5.10 someone from the BFI came out and announced that Olivier’s flight from LA was late and that he is on his way from Heathrow… if he made it there by 5.30 the session would go on as planned, if not it would be cancelled. Amazing news!

5.30 I was back, fingers crossed that he would appear on stage and would worth the waiting, the travelling and ticket money… they announced his arrival and played a piece of Carlos… and I knew it was.

Although the talk was very fast as it had to fit in the remaining time, I enjoyed every minute of it. I loved that the French in the room looked at him completely different than the English did; they would feed on each word as if a God was speaking compared to a circumspect glance and a faint smile from time to time. I loved his accent and the pauses he took to find his words, I loved the pieces of film that were presented. I loved that we talked about his past, his present and his art…

I’ll leave you to an extract of the talk which you can find here:

http://www.bfi.org.uk/live/video/473

Leave a Reply

my tweets

If you want to be up to date with my everyday philosophies, just click!

Join 18 other followers

Top Clicks

  • None
October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
