PR, Films and Fantasies

Art as commodity – use value versus exchange value – where do they come from?

Posted on: February 10, 2011

I kept posting this really interesting video made by some cultural studies students and covering the exploration of art as commodity. I found it as I was doing research for my dissertation which among many other things looks at film as being between commodity, art and pleasure. Although approaching capitalism from a “very” marxist position, I think many of the topics it covers are relevant and can easily be related to the postmodern, consumerist society we live in.

Perhaps I agree to a certain extent to the points made by Allan Woods as I am not a big fan of contemporary art, but in the end WHAT IS ART TODAY? Does a fork stuck in a piece of bread belong to a museum?

Let me know what you think!

1 Response to "Art as commodity – use value versus exchange value – where do they come from?"

right up my ally. Thnx!

Leave a Reply

my tweets

If you want to be up to date with my everyday philosophies, just click!

Join 18 other followers

Top Clicks

  • None
February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
