PR, Films and Fantasies

Stories…

Posted on: May 9, 2011

I didn’t have the chance to explore the “fantasies” part of the blog until now, so I thought that, as a comeback post (I know things have been quiet for the past month and academic work is to blame for that) I would quickly introduce you to some of my favourite storytellers at the moment. I probably read everything they published and each time they managed to capture me from page one and up to the last word. If I ever write fantasy, it would be because of their work…

First of all, I am absolutely obsessed with South American writers, especially Gabriel Garcia Marquez and Isabel Allende. You probably heard of them before, but just in case, Marquez is the famous writer of 100 Years of Solitude and Love in Time of Cholera (among many, many others) and Allende is probably best known for The House of Spirits and Paula. On the English side, I love Tracy Chevalier’s books, such as The Girl with the Pearl Earring or Deep Blue.

It’s hard to say what I find so fascinating about their work, but in the end I guess it’s the fact that each page is like a film scene. The way they frame each dialogue, the colour you can imagine behind the lines, the movements, looks and touches, there’s something magical that simply wants to jump off the page, grab the reader and take him to the world of the characters. Also, most of the stories (especially when it comes to Marquez) may seem… strange to the sceptical reader. But they are strange in a very good way as they fight every rational molecule and set the imagination free to explore possible beginnings or endings.

Try it for yourself… Eyes of a Blue Dog by Marquez or my favourite A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings

Leave a Reply

my tweets

If you want to be up to date with my everyday philosophies, just click!

Join 18 other followers

Top Clicks

  • None
May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
